Sunday, June 23, 2013

The Quarryman's Bride

In “The Quarryman’s Bride” by Tracie Peterson we meet Emmalyne Knox. Emmalyne grew up in St. Cloud, Minnesota and fell in love with Tavin MacLachlan. Just weeks before their wedding, a storm comes through and kills Emmalyne’s two younger sisters. Her father ends her engagement because of a tradition that the youngest daughter must never marry and take care of her parents. Emmalyne and Tavin were devastated. Now eleven years have passed and Emmalyne’s family has moved back to St. Cloud. Her father and brother are now working for the MacLachlan’s. Tavin also returns to St. Cloud in order to help his father with the family business. When Emmalyne and Tavin run into each other they realize the love is still there, but Tavin knows that nothing can ever come of it. He tries to push Emmalyne away but circumstances keep bringing them together. The more time they spend together the deeper the feelings grown. Emmalyne knows that the only way for them to be together is to convince her father he was wrong. Will she be able to bring her father back to the Lord and bring the families together again?

This is a story of hope and love that shows us that good things truly do come to those who wait. This story also shows us that nothing can stand in the way of true love as long as we put our faith in God and trust that He will see us through. “The Quarryman’s Bride” is the second book in the Land of Shining Water trilogy but it can be read as a standalone but I highly recommend reading “The Icecutter’s Daughter” as well. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Bethany House Publishers.

Grace's Pictures

In “Grace’s Pictures” by Cindy Thomson, we meet Grace McCaffery. Grace grew up in Ireland and was torn from her mother at a young age. Now the year is 1900 and at the age of eighteen, Grace is setting out for a new life in America. When she arrives to America she has a hard time trusting not only people but also God because of all the bad things that happened to her in Ireland. She soon makes new friends but she does not want anything to do with Owen McNulty, a New York police officer. Owen came from a life of privilege but became an officer to help those less fortunate like Grace. His mission of late is to clean up the streets and rid New York of gang members. In Grace’s spare time she takes up the hobby of photography. Photography is a fairly new invention and many people are leery about it. When a notorious gang leader believes that Grace took his picture her life suddenly becomes in danger. She soon learns that Owen is one of the good guys and learns to trust him. Will Owen be able to save Grace from the gang? Will she finally learn to trust in God?

“Grace’s Pictures” is the first book in the Ellis Island series and it is a very well written story. The story tells of the hardships many immigrants faced when they came to America in the early 1900’s. Not only did they have to work long hours at hard jobs just to provide for their families, but they also had to deal with the criminals on the streets and the wealthy who wanted nothing to do with them. Like Grace, many immigrants had to put their faith in God to see them through. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Tyndale House Publishers. Click here to read the author Q & A. Click here to read the first chapter. Click here to visit Cindy Thomson's blog.

Saturday, June 8, 2013

Undeniably Yours

In “Undeniably Yours” by Becky Wade we meet oil heiress Meg Cole. Meg’s father died unexpectedly and now she finds herself with the controlling shares of Cole Oil. He also left her the Whispering Creek Ranch. When she tries to shut down the thoroughbred horse farm she has a run in with the manager, Bo Porter. Bo helped her father start the farm from the ground up and he wants a chance to prove to Meg that it can be successful. All Meg wants is to cut ties and get back to her life. She gives Bo six months to shut it down and he decides that he has six months to change her mind. What neither counted on was the instant attraction between them. Bo sees vulnerability in Meg and wants to be her friend and protect her. Meg soon realizes that Bo is able to keep her calm and makes her feel safe. When Meg’s past comes walking back into her life, it sends her into a tailspin and she draws closer to Bo. They overcome many obstacles and begin a relationship and begin to love each other. But there is someone who means to tear them apart and cause harm to Meg.

This is a very well written book and it will grab you from the start and you will not want to put it down. You will feel for Meg and Bo as their relationship changes and deepens. This is a sweet story that shows us that nothing is impossible when God is in control and we trust fully in Him. This story also shows that God is always in control even though we may sometimes have other plans for our lives. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Bethany House Publishers.

The Wishing Tree

In “The Wishing Tree” by Marybeth Whalen we meet Ivy Marshall. In one day, Ivy learns that she no longer has a job, her husband, Elliott, is cheating on her, and her sister is about to be proposed to on national television on Valentine’s Day. Ivy’s mother wants her to return home to help with the wedding plans and she jumps at the chance in order to avoid her husband. When she returns to Sunset Beach she comes face to face with her former fiancĂ©, Michael. She begins to think she made a mistake when she left Michael for Elliott and decides to try to win Michael back. Elliott in the meantime is trying to prove himself to Ivy and win her back. He starts posting his apology to her on Twitter in hopes that she will see it and forgive him. Ivy also has to deal with a strained relationship with her sister. Her whole family was devastated when she left and she has only recently begun to talk to them again. Ivy hopes that by returning home she will be able to mend the fences she broke. What she soon finds out is that Michael has moved on and does not want to be her consolation prize. Will she figure out who her future is before it is too late?

This book is a sweet and sad story of love and forgiveness. This book shows us that no matter what someone has done to us that if we truly love them then we can forgive them with God’s help. I received a complimentary copy of this book from