Sunday, January 26, 2014

Princess Ever After

In “Princess Ever After” by Rachel Hauck we meet small town girl Regina Beswick. Regina left her job as a CPA to follow her dream of restoring antique cars. She loves her life in Tallahassee but her world is soon to be turned upside down. Tanner Burkhardt is the Minister of Culture for the Grand Duchy of Hessenberg and he has been sent to America to tell Regina that she is a real princess. Regina learns that her great-grandmother was the heir of Hessenberg but her uncle surrendered the country in 1914. The entail to Brighton is coming to a close after a hundred years but Hessenberg will not be its own country again unless Regina takes the Oath of the Throne and rules the country. Regina is overwhelmed by the decision and she relies on Tanner every step of the way. As the two spend time together love starts to blossom. Regina must turn to God to see her through and trust in Him to show her what she is meant to do for the future of Hessenberg and her future with Tanner.

This is another well written book by Rachel Hauck that will draw you into a lovely fairytale and make you wonder what you would do if you were in Regina’s place. This book shows us that God is in everything and we only have to trust in Him and He will show us the right path. This is the second book in the Royal Wedding Series and it can be read as a standalone but I recommend also reading “Once Upon a Prince” as the two main characters from that book make an appearance in “Princess Ever After”. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from

Monday, January 20, 2014

The Dancing Master

“The Dancing Master” by Julie Klassen takes us to 1816 Devonshire, England. Alec Valcourt is a dancing master in London and has carried on the family legacy of teaching the young ladies and gents the art of the dance. When a scandal destroys his family he moves with his mother and sister to Beaworthy, Devonshire. He hopes to open a new dancing and fencing academy there but soon finds out that dancing has been banned in Beaworthy by the village matriarch. Alec befriends the matriarch’s daughter Julia but is wary of her intentions, for he knows the games the young, privileged daughters of England can play. Julia has grown up in Beaworthy and has always wondered about the reason her mother has forbidden dancing. She learns that her uncle was killed in a duel by the former dancing master, a duel that was fought over her aunt’s honor. The more Julia digs into the past the more secrets she uncovers and one secret could change her life forever. As Alec and Julia set out to bring dancing back to the village and to find out the mysteries and secrets that happened twenty years before the deeper the attraction grows between them. Will they find love in the process?

“The Dancing Master” is another wonderfully written book by Julie Klassen. She paints a picture of what life was like in Regency England and you will feel like you are really there. In this book we see how hatred can tear people apart and how forgiveness does heal all wounds. We also see how incomplete our lives can be when we do not have God in our lives. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves stories set in Regency England. I also recommend reading Ms. Klassen’s other books as well. You will not be disappointed. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Bethany House Publishers.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

With Autumn's Return

In “With Autumn’s Return” by Amanda Cabot we are once again taken to 1880’s Wyoming. Elizabeth Harding is the third Harding sister and she has moved to Wyoming to open her medical practice. She has big dreams and plans and is sure that she will have many patients. When she has a run-in with her neighbor, Jason, she learns that he disapproves of her profession. And unfortunately for her many of the people feel the same way and do not want to see a woman doctor. Jason also has troubles with his law practice when he and the town find out that he defended a guilty man whom they all thought was innocent. As the two spend more time together, Jason soon changes his mind about Elizabeth and the two become friends. What neither Jason nor Elizabeth counted on was for that friendship to develop into something more. When one of the wealthiest men in Cheyenne is murdered the two must work together in order to see the guilty person caught.

This is the third book in the Westward Winds trilogy and it is another well written story that will transport you to 1887 Cheyenne. In this book we see how God is in control of our lives when we put our trust in Him and that He knows best even when we have our own plans. This book can be read as a standalone but I highly recommend reading “Summer of Promise” and “Waiting for Spring” for Abigail and Charlotte’s stories. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Revell.

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

The Sinners' Garden

In “The Sinners’ Garden” by William Sirls we meet teenager Andy Kemp, his mother Judi, his Uncle Rip, and his mother’s best friend Heather. When Andy was a small child a horrible accident left him with a scar on his face. His mother has never been able to forgive herself for not protecting him from the danger. Andy has been led to believe that his mother is the reason for his scar. The two have a very tumultuous relationship because of it. Rip dedicated his life to the Lord after several years in prison and he does everything he can to help Andy believe there is a God and that God loves him. Rip also has a hard time forgiving himself for the past even though he knows it is behind him and he is a new man. Heather is a small town cop and is investigating a series of break-ins in the area, but instead of stealing the person is leaving generous gifts behind. After her run-in with the “Summer Santa” she starts to question her faith and what she really wants in life. These four people really start to question God when a huge and mysterious flower garden appears out of nowhere. They all feel God’s presence there and begin to wonder what God is trying to tell them.

This was a very thought provoking novel. It will make you wonder about the miracles God still performs but that we don’t hear about. This novel is ultimately about forgiveness and shows us how horrible our daily lives can be if we let anger towards others rule our lives. We must always let God have control of our lives and trust that He does ultimately know what is best for us even when we think otherwise. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from